Kahnawà:ke’s Economic Development Commission

Kahnawà:ke’s Economic Development Commission


Tewatohnhi’saktha proceeds to Election

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEKahnawà:ke (Seskehkó:wa/September 19, 2023)

Herb Rice, Electoral Officer for the Tewatohnhi’saktha, has confirmed receiving three (3) nominations on Saturday, September 9, 2023 to fill two (2) seats on the Board of Directors.          

The nominees are as follows:  

  • Nominee: Greg Horn                                 Nominated by: Gladys Horn                                     Seconded by: Charles (Chuck) Barnett
  • Nominee: Charles (Chuck) Barnett         Nominated by: Donna Delaronde McComber        Seconded by: Thawennontie Thomas
  • Nominee: Barbara McComber                 Nominated by: Daryl Leclaire                                   Seconded by: Larry McComber 

The nominations have been vetted by the Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke on Monday, September 18th, Herb Rice confirms that an election will place to to fill the two seats on the Board. 

The Election will take place on Saturday, September 30, 2023, at the Kahnawà:ke Business  Complex (Tewatohnhi’saktha building) from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM. 

For those who are not available on election day, you may be eligible to vote in a Special Poll which will be held on Thursday, September 28 from 2:00 – 5:00 PM in the lobby of Tewatohnhi’saktha building. To be eligible for the Special Poll, a voter must provide a Letter of Intent with their name, band number and valid reason for not being able to vote on Election Day. The Letter of Intent can be sent via email at: rice_herb@hotmail.com or addressed to Electoral Officer and delivered to Tewatohnhi’saktha reception. This must be received by Electoral Officer by latest 4:00 PM on Monday, September 25, 2023. The applicants will be reviewed and receive a written response by 12:00 PM on Wednesday, September 27, 2023.


For more info contact:
Herb Rice 
Electoral Officer
(514) 862-5944